Site Map Icon
RSS Feed icon
MCC Faculty Association
Member Login


Not registered yet?
Click Here to sign-up

Forgot Your Login?
June 23, 2024
<< June 2024 >>
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Follow Us!
Facebook icon
Site Search
Site Map
RSS Feeds
Our History
Updated On: May 123, 2012

The Faculty Association was organized on March 27, 1968 under the Public Employees Relations Act of 1968 (Taylor Law).

Prior to its formal organization under the Taylor Law in 1968, the FA was operational as early as 1964. Dana Woodbridge, of the English-Philosophy Department, was the first Chairman pro tem of the Faculty Association. Robert Knapp from Sociology/Anthropology was the first FA President in 1965.

Our Presidents 1965-to present

Robert Knapp Sociology/ Anthropology 1965-67
Raymond Ruff Business/ Economics 1967-68
Stuart Porter Mathematics 1968-69
Robert Berry Mathematics 1969-71
James Hancock English/Philosophy 1971-72
David McNitt Mathematics 1972-74
James Snyder History/Political Science 1974-75
Judith Toler English/Philosophy 1975-79
Gerard Nobiling Chemistry 1979-80
Judith Toler English/ Philosophy 1980-83
Joseph Marchese Business/Economics 1983-84
William Brindle Sociology/ Anthropology 1984-86
David McNitt Mathematics 1986-97
W. Michael Goho Engineering Science/ Physics 1997-2005
Charles Clarke Psychology 2005-11
Bethany Gizzi Sociology 2011-present

 Some notable events in the FA's history: 

  • On December 8, 1967, the Faculty Council passed a motion to begin working towards making the Faculty Association the collective bargaining unit for faculty and professional staff.
  • The Faculty Association affiliated with the New York State United Teachers and the American Federation of Teachers in 1973.
  • The first FA contract was negotiated for a one-year period, 1969-1970. Stuart Porter was FA President and Richard O'Keefe was Contract Administrator.
  • In 1984, the contract failed ratification, due to a tie vote, 99 to 99. This contract was later ratified.
  • There have been five Chief Contract Negotiators in FA history: Richard O'Keefe, History/Political Science; Joseph Marchese, Business/Economics; Charles Clarke, Psychology; W. Michael Goho, Engineering Science/Physics; and Bethany Gizzi, Sociology.
  • In the early 1980's, the FA brought a grievance against Monroe Community College on behalf of the women faculty claiming salary discrimination. This grievance was settled in 1986 in favor the the FA.
  • The 1993-1997 contract failed to get approval from the county on June 23, 1993. After a long battle, in which the FA sued Monroe County and Monroe Community College, the FA prevailed and raises were restored back to 9/1/93.

Faculty Association Monroe Community College
Copyright © 2024, All Rights Reserved.
Powered By UnionActive™

Top of Page image